Town of Duck

Town of Duck beaches on the Outer Banks.

With powerful Hurricane Dorian looming, a mandatory evacuation has been issued for all visitors to North Carolina's Dare County on the Outer Banks, beginning Tuesday at noon.

A mandatory evacuation order for all Dare residents will become effective at 6 a.m. on Wednesday.

Dare County Emergency Management said in a statement Monday afternoon: "With confidence increasing that Dare County will see significant, life-threatening impacts from Hurricane Dorian later this week, a state of emergency has been issued for all areas of Dare County, including the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and all unincorporated areas, including Hatteras Island, Roanoke Island and the Dare mainland."

Shortly before 5 p.m. Monday, Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam announced a state of emergency for the state of Virginia.

"Please stay alert as we continue to track this storm and its potential impact on Virginia," Northam said on Twitter.

Breaking & daily news emails

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

Load comments