Graduating class

Members of the graduating class from the Sovah School of Health Professions are (front row, from left) Whitney Wood, Bridget Carter, Samantha Randazzo, Alexandria Cundiff and Kayla Owen; (second row) Shelby Webster, Preston Key, Abigail Crews, Anna Wright, Allison Womack and Carly Sehe.

The Sovah School of Health Professions held its 16th annual graduation ceremony Aug. 9 at the Institute for Advanced Learning and Research.

This year’s class had 11 graduates who earned their Associate of Applied Science degree in radiologic technology.

“We are proud of the graduates and have enjoyed watching each of them learn and grow in the program for the past two years,” said Kevin Murray, director for the radiologic technology program.

Five graduates received academic honors: Abigail Crews and Whitney Wood were honored as summa cum laude graduates; Alexandria Cundiff and Kayla Owen both received magna cum laude honors; and Samantha Randazzo received cum laude honors. Crews and Wood both received the Academic Achievement Award for highest cumulative GPA, while Crews also took home the Clinical Excellence and JRCERT Certificate of Excellence Awards.

The graduating class honored four technologists in recognition of exceptional mentoring and instruction of student technologists in the clinical setting. These technologists were selected from a group of more than 100 technologists employed at our clinical sites. This year’s winners included Heather Lovern, Sovah Health-Danville; Macy McBride, Sovah Health-Martinsville; Karley Lester, Spectrum Medical; and Lauren Haymore, UNC Rockingham Health Care, who was also recognized as Technologist of the Year.

Load comments